New faces, old traditions: National Honor Society inducts its 61st class


Credit: Owen Quayle

Chapter vice president Zakiya Fleming lights a candle at the induction ceremony. Each candle represents one of the pillars of NHS.

Owen Quayle, News Editor

On Jan. 11 Loy Norrix welcomed its newest class of National Honor Society members at the annual induction ceremony. 

The Loy Norrix chapter of the National Honor Society (NHS), was founded in 1961, making this the 62nd class of inductees. This year, a new log book was introduced at the ceremony, as the original book that has been in use since the chapter’s founding has run out of space. 

Each NHS officer gave speeches on one of the four pillars of NHS: service, character, scholarship and responsibility. They also each lit one of four candles, each one symbolizing one of the four pillars. This type of ceremony is unique to the National Honor Society, as far as school organizations go. 

“I just think it’s important that we take moments to recognize accomplishment and to recognize the pillars of the National Honor Society,” said the chapter’s co-advisor, Matthew Porco. 

The officers are second year members of the NHS Chapter: President Nina Molitor, Vice President Zakiya Fleming, Treasurer Foster Neve-Jones and Secretary Ann Cook. 

“I know our chapter isn’t always the most diverse, so creating a sense of welcoming and encouragement this year is super important,” said chapter president Nina Molitor.

Although a few seniors were inducted, the majority of this year’s inductees are juniors. Each new class of NHS members brings a fresh perspective and mindset, along with their own goals for the chapter. 

“I want to make a conscious effort to reach out into the community with my service and not just hold myself to the bare minimum: helping others lets me take a step back and look at my own first world problems with a more critical eye,” said junior Amelia Isacksen. 


Senior Inductees

Aden Dewees

Gracie Goschke

Maya Karaivanova

Talia Robertson

James Rocco

Anthony White

Junior Inductees

Mayalena Alvarez

Bridgette Bol 

Vivienne Chapman

Sophia Ciokajlo

Odessa Clemente

Lauren Dunning 

Isabella Essink

Maya Fronseca-Jerslid

David Fooy

Lucas Frankart

Stephanie Garcia 

Amelia Gougam

Ethan Hall

Clara Huckabee

Amelia Isacksen

Micah Johnson

Riley Ketchum

Lucy Langerveld

Ethan loiselle

Margaret Loncharte

Grace Mahar 

Meadow Meskil

Riley Nilsson

Natalia Perrin

Ella Pickett

Owen Pirochta

Emily Porco

Nicholas Potts

Annaliese Ransom’

Zoe Reeves

Kimberly Sanchez-Adunas

Isabella Santos-Pye

Alexandra Sedore

Ella Stangl

Aaron Teal

Ellen Terzino

Nateya Thomas

Sienna Thompson

Josephine Velo

Aliah Ward

Hannah Zmick-Furno